The director from Córdoba Francisco Javier Gutierrez rose this Friday with the Asecan award for best director for his movie The wait, at a gala in which it also resulted podcast awarded Anguita and Julio, prepared by Cordoban journalists Marta Jiménez and José María Martín for and Cordópolis, in the new section dedicated to other formats.

The Association of Film Writers of Andalusia –Asecan– delivered tonight the 36th Asecan Andalusian Cinema Awards at the Seville Exhibition and Congress Palace, FIBES, an edition in which great achiever it was the movie I’m loving you madly, from Malaga Alejandro Marinfor Escándalo Films, ESCAC Films, Zeta Studios, La Pepa Films and Canal Sur Radio y TV, by winning the Film and Novel Direction Awards, which were collected by Alejandro Marín himself, and the producer Manuel Yebra.

Antonio de la Torre, Asecan Honor Award

With the main sponsorship of the Seville City Council, through Contursa, Sevilla City Office, and the support of the AISGE Foundation, the SGAE Foundation, Cines de Andalucía, Aedava and EGEDA, the Asecan Awards were transformed into a dinner that brought together the sector to celebrate the 2023 film harvest with the first awards and recognitions of the year. This year the awards ceremony was starred by the Malaga actor Antonio de la Torre, who received the Asecan Honor Award from Alberto Rodríguez, a distinction that recognizes his extensive career as one of the most relevant Andalusian performers on the current cinematographic scene, and one of the main ambassadors of Andalusia in his professional performance.

Continuing with the awards, The left-handed sonor collected the first Asecan Sevilla&me Sevilla Film Office for Best Television Series of the year, as well as the Asecan Screenplay for Rafael Cobos and the Asecan Directorate for Rafael Cobos and Paco Baños. In the Directing category, an ex aequo was awarded this year to the Cordoban F. Javier Gutiérrez, who also wins the Asecan Direction for his work in The wait.

Kiti Mánver and Manolo Solo, best performers

For her part, the Malaga actress Kiti Manver won the AISGE Female Interpretation Award for her leading role in Mamacruzby the Venezuelan Patricia Ortega living in Seville, while the Cádiz native Manolo Solo He has won the AISGE Male Performance Award for his work in Cerrar los ojos by Víctor Erice.

The Asecan Música Original was also resolved with an ex aequo, an honor shared by the composer Pablo Cervantes recognized for the score of the documentary Aníbal. The architect of Seville by Paco Ortiz; and the Malaga composer Paloma Peñarrubia for the musical composition of Secaderos de Rocío Mesa.

Director Alejandro G. Salgado collected the Asecan Non-Fiction Award for Un día Lobo López from La Maleta Films; while the Asecan Short Film Award went to Actos por Parts by Sergio Milan from Granada. Recognizing talent in any format of audiovisual creation in Andalusia, the Asecan Other Formats Award has gone to the Córdoba podcast Anguita and Julio.

Cordoba journalist

Already in the most traditional categories of the Asecan, the Juan Antonio Bermúdez Informative Labor Award goes to the journalist Manuel Bellido for an entire career dedicated to film information; The Juan Antonio Bermúdez Award for the Dissemination of Cinema in Andalusia went to the Digitizer of Collective Memory; and the Film Book Award, this year was awarded to Alberto Rodríguez, film director, by Luis Álvarez Borrero and Pedro Álvarez Molina, at Ediciones Sílex.

During the gala presentation of the 36 Asecan Andalusian Cinema Awards, the Cines de Andalucía network and the Association of Audiovisual Distribution Companies of Andalusia (Aedava) presented the 2023 Industry-Cinema Award of Andalusia to Mundofiction Productions for its commitment to the production of films with screen value, designed for the enjoyment of the public through comedy, and for its determined task in promoting its stories, with a deep-rooted Andalusian component and a demonstrated concern for generating the audiovisual industry and wealth in the territory.

In this edition of the Asecan Awards, a total of 370 entries have been received, surpassing last year’s 265 by more than 100, of which 131 have been for the collective categories and 202 for the individual categories. Among the collective categories, there were 31 feature-length fiction entries (double the number last year), 29 feature-length documentaries, 52 short films, 11 works of other formats and eight series.